Iberian Strings 2017
Técnico, Lisbon, January 16-19



The Iberian Strings 2017 meeting is the eigth meeting of the Iberian Strings series, superseding previous editions of the Workshop on Gravitational Aspects of Strings and Branes and of Northwest Strings. These meetings bring together a large part of the string theory community of Spain and Portugal and aim at discussing recent advances in the field of strings and branes. String theorists working elsewhere are welcome to participate in the meeting.

Iberian Strings 2017 will be held at Instituto Superior Técnico (Lisbon/Portugal) from January 16 till January 19, 2017.  IST has already been the home of Iberian Strings 2013.

The present edition will feature 8 invited review lectures on hot topics as well as a considerable number of shorter (30 minute) talks by participants.  The list of review lecturers is given below.

Those interested in participating have to register through the Registration page. There is no registration fee. PhD students are encouraged to participate in the meeting.

Participants (with the exception of the lecturers) are responsible for making their own hotel reservations. The organizing committee made block reservations at various hotels nearby the IST campus, see the list in Local info.

There will be a conference lunch, which will have to be paid by the participants, see Programme.

This conference is supported by CAMGSD.


  • Inês Aniceto (Jagiellonian, Krakow)
  • José Barbon (IFT UAM/CSIC, Madrid)
  • Daniel Grumiller (TU Vienna)
  • Ricardo Monteiro (CERN, Geneva)
  • Koenraad Schalm (Leiden)
  • Julian Sonner (Geneva)
  • Alessandro Vichi (EPFL Lausanne)
  • Alberto Zaffaroni (Milano-Bicocca)

Scientific Committee

  • Igor Bandos (Bilbao)
  • José Barbon (Madrid)
  • Miguel Costa (Porto)
  • José Edelstein (Santiago de Compostela)
  • Roberto Emparan (Barcelona)
  • Bert Janssen (Granada)
  • Karl Landsteiner (Madrid) 
  • María A. Lledó (Valencia)
  • Esperanza Lopez (Madrid)
  • Yolanda Lozano (Oviedo)
  • Fernando Marchesano (Madrid)
  • Javier Mas (Santiago de Compostela)
  • Miguel Vazquez-Mozo (Salamanca)
  • Tomás Ortín (Madrid)
  • Alfonso Ramallo (Santiago de Compostela)
  • Rafael Hernandez Redondo (Madrid) 
  • Angel Uranga (Madrid)

Organizing Committee

  • Gabriel Cardoso (IST)
  • Michele Cirafici (IST)
  • Gianluca Inverso (IST)
  • Silvia Nagy (IST)
  • Suresh Nampuri (IST)
  • Ricardo Schiappa (IST)